usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

great birthday gift

so today is my mom's birthday. i won't tell ya'll how old she is cause i'm not a hundred percent sure myself. and yes, i'm aware of the fact that that's sad and pathetic.

so, my mom's mom passed away back in september 2000. shortly after the funeral was over my aunt and uncle, my mom's older brother and sister, did some pretty mean stuff to my mom and hurt her really badly. they haven't really spoken since then.

back when daddy first got sick in 2002, mama called her brother and told him but he was real short with her and ended up hanging up on her without even saying goodbye. obviously, that hurt her even more because she was scared that her husband was going to die and she wanted her brother and sister to be there for her.

anyway, my mom is so not a confrontational person. hmmm, wonder if that's where i get it from?

anyway, so for the past few years they have had no contact whatsoever. they, my aunt and uncle and their families, live in north carolina so it isn't like they are close by or whatever. anyway, so today i come home from work and get the mail and there is a birthday card for my mom from her sister. inside she wrote happy birthday, i love you.

mama kind of thought that maybe this was an indication that things might be able to be patched up so she decided that she was going to call her. she was nervous as hell and it didn't help any that when she tried to call information to get her number, it was unlisted and she ended up having to call one of her cousins to get it.

so, she called and my aunt answered and they spent the next two and half hours on the phone talking and catching up. she is so happy. and excited. and i'm so happy for her. i cried when she told me. she's missed them so much.

my aunt told her that my uncle had come to her just a few weeks ago and asked her if maybe they could all get together and drive up here and visit us. this is before the birthday card and phone call and everything. and this is from my uncle who treated my mom like garbage from the day my grandma died. wow.

my only cousin from that side of family is lynn. she is my aunt's daughter. she's 40, she'll be 41 in july and she is the most amazing person i've ever known. and since we haven't had anything to do with my aunt, then we haven't been able to be in contact with lynn either which has been heartbreaking to both me and my mom.

lynn has downs syndrome. she is the most sweet and wonderful woman you would ever meet and i love her so much and have missed her so much in these past few years. i have literally had to force myself to stop thinking about her, and mama said she had to do the same thing, because it just hurt too much to not be able to see her or talk to her. and mama got to talk to her tonight. i wish i had been home to have a chat with her. but they are coming to visit soon and i'll get to see her.

no one knew that my aunt was pregnant until she went into labor. this was back in 1964 and she wasn't married. and this was a very very small town and they were members of an extremely harsh fire and brimstone, watch cartoons and you're going to die, penticostal church. mama said people used to speak in tongues and writhe in the floor and they handled snakes and all of that wacko stuff when she was little girl, which is part of the reason why she's not been big on church as an adult. (and no offense meant to any of you folks who may do that wacko stuff either)

anyway, so my mama was only 12 years old when lynn was born. yeah, she's 53 today. anyway. so she was right at the age where she was totally into being an aunt. my aunt and lynn lived with my mom and my grandma for a little while before she got married so mama and lynn have always been very very close.

the doctors back then told my aunt that lynn would not live to be a year old.

after her first birthday, they said she didn't have another twelve months in her.

did i mention that she'll be 41 in july?

i think that this is the best birthday present that mama could have ever gotten and i am so glad that my aunt sucked it up and sent that card and i'm so glad that mama sucked it up and called even though she was scared and nervous.

and now they are planning to come up one weekend when mama and i are both off and spending the weekend with us. i'm so happy and so excited. i can't wait to see them all. especially my lynn.

i have to go email will now and tell him the good news. he'll be thrilled to hear that mama and her sis have mended the bridge and that lynn is doing well. and then, i'm going to bed.

toodles

10:32 pm - 17 Mar 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy