usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i know it hurts but i need you to bend your leg this way...

so, you may remember that i hurt my hip last week at work. it's been hurting pretty constant ever since and i've been doing what the nurse told me when i filed my incident report. which was to keep advil in my system and to put ice on it etc. but it has just gotten worse over the past few days.

this afternoon at work, i had only been there about two and a half hours, jermaine called me and asked me if i had been to the doctor yet and i said no and he said he thought i needed to go tomorrow, that he would get someone to cover my shift. after we talked for a minute he said i sounded funny and what was wrong. i told him that i was in extreme pain when standing up and that only went away a little bit when i sat down and right now it was a sharp shooting pain. so he said, you're going to the doctor right now.

he got one of the other team leads to watch food and sent me off to the urgent care facility that target uses. the place was packed. every single parking spot was full. people were parking in the lot at the grocery store clear at the other end of the shopping center and walking. lucky break for me though, i got there just as someone was pulling out and ended up parking right in front of the door. this caused me to receive several mean looks from people whom i'm guessing had walked the quarter mile from grocery store.

don't i deserve a little bit of good luck in my life right now?

anyway, so it look like thirty minutes for me to get called to register and then another forty minutes to get called back. my bp was up again but the nurse said it was probably just because i was in pain and she guessed correctly that i don't like doctors and i really really dislike sitting in waiting rooms surrounded by sick people breathing on me. (i'm obesseive compulsive, leave me alone) so those factors probably caused the pressure to rise and it wasn't high enough to cause any concern.

a little bit more good luck.

then i had to get undressed and change into one of those hospital gown things. usually i hate those damn things with a passion. but today i actually told the doctor i wanted to wear mine home. he laughed and said target would probably not want to pay for a hospital gown. anyway, it was huge, it wrapped around me twice and hung all the way to my ankles and the sleeves were supposed to be short but the came almost to my wrists instead. and it was thick and warm which was nice because it was unbelievably cold in there. i curled up on my gurney and wrapped my gown all around me and dozed for a while.

then i had to go get like a dozen xrays of my hip and femur and knee. okay, it wasn't a dozen but it was nine and that's close enough. i was in tears by the end of the first xray and the next thirty minutes of laying on that cold metal table moving my leg and hip into unnatural positions did not improve.

not to mention that i haven't shaved my legs in five days. since the day before i hurt myself actually so i was kinda hairy and that was icky and gross. but, i was in too much pain to really care enough to be embarrassed.

so it turns out that i have a sprained hip and my sciattic nerve is pinched and it sucks. i got three prescriptions, two are muscle relaxers, one of which can only be taken at night. i foresee some sleep in my future! and then i got a shot of demerol in my ass. good times.

have i mentioned that i am totally phobic about needles? once again i was insanly in tears.

so now i'm on light duty for the next week. no standing, no walking. i'm allowed to sit all day. i can stand to stretch and i can walk to and from my car and to and from the bathroom and that is all. at home i am supposed to start using heat on it tomorrow and stay on my butt. woohoo. a legitimate reason to be lazy.

i have other news but i'm tired and hungry and i want my pj's. i'll be online for a while longer so i may or may not update again. we'll see.

toodles

9:14 pm - 15 Feb 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy