usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rich but still broke as hell

mama gave me part of my valentine's gift the other day. garnet and diamond earrings. they are absolutely gorgeous. so i wore them to work today and got many compliments. i don't usually wear jewlery to work so when i do people notice right away. anyway, so when she got home a while ago i told her that everyone at work liked my valentine's gift.

daddy was like what valentine's gift so i went over and showed him. mama was like, i showed them to you when i bought them. he asked why she gave them to me early and she said because she is proud of me for doing all of the work to take care of grandma's house and stuff.

so i come in here and get online and check my auctions and daddy sticks his head in the door and asks if i'd like another part of my valentine's gift. like i'm really going to say, no, i think i'll just wait until monday. ha. right. more like gimme gimme!

so he hands me this big friggin freidman's jewlers box. like a big box. so i open it and it's a ruby and diamond cross pendant on a gold chain. a real ruby and diamond cross pendant. diamonds and rubies. real ones. i'm still in shock. real fucking rubies and real fucking diamonds. holy shit.

he may be a mean bastard sometimes but he gave me diamonds and rubies.

my aunt went to my grandma's sometime in the past week completely ransacked the upstairs bedrooms. bitch. i mean, she literally pulled drawers open and just dumped the contents in the floor and threw stuff on the beds and just everywhere. it makes me sick. can't she at least pretend to have some respect for her mother. i told daddy i hope she found whatever the hell she was looking for. he said of course she didn't, she's looking for a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. and it so isn't in my grandma's house.

grandma wasn't dirt poor but she spent damn near every penny she had on anything and everything. there is no money. there is only room after room of crap she bought on infomercials and the home shopping network and everything she has ever owned in her entire life. and everything my dad and my aunt ever owned too.

i haven't found a bag stuffed full of dollar bills, but i've found my pot of gold. everytime i come across something that brings back a particular memory, that spreads a smile across me face, that is my pot of gold. my aunt is so busy being selfish that she can't see that she could be rich with all of that. i am.

8:56 pm - 09 Feb 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy