usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my eyes hurt

hey sherlock, don't get in trouble checking on me at work. :) i'm alright. i left you a message on your machine at home. thanks for the note in my guestbook.

so i put a call into the red cross to get will home. he will be on his way within a couple of hours. he called me this morning and gave me all of the information that i needed and told me to call right then.

daddy and my aunt have a meeting with grandma's doctor in about a half hour to discuss how far they want the staff to go to save her life should she code again. daddy spent a long time this morning talking to the doctor and in his opinion (the doctor's) there really is nothing left for them to do for her. the machine is breathing for her and they are giving her medicine to keep her blood pressure up. her kidneys are failing and it's just a matter of time before she codes again.

daddy gave the doctor a DNR order for her in the meantime. my aunt will probably be pissed off but she'll get over it. i agree with daddy. i've made my peace with it the best that i can. i know that when the end finally comes it will still be hard and it will still hurt but what i saw last night lying in that bed hooked up to those tubes and wires and machines was not my grandma. it was an empty shell. it was her body, but her essence, the thing that makes her her is gone.

i finally caved on the pancakes so i'm having pancakes and sausage for lunch. i just got home from the grocery store so i need to get things put away, fix my lunch and get on with taking care of things here.

thanks again for everyone's thoughts and notes and prayers. they have really meant a great deal to me.

toodles

12:21 pm - 15 Nov 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy