usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goodbye Pops

Today a cool man died of cancer. His name was Wayne, but we all called him Pops. He was my friend Ray's dad.

He was one of the grouchiest, most crochety old men you'd ever meet but once you met him, you loved him.

He let us all hang out at his house 24/7. He bitched at us a lot but whenever we stopped coming around he called and told us to get our asses back, his couch was getting lonely.

I used to cook dinner for him and Ray a lot. The man loved Hamburger Helper. It didn't matter what flavor, as long as that damn glove with the eyeballs was on the box Pops was a happy man.

He always let kids crash at his place when they had a falling out with their folks and he collected car keys at the door when he knew we'd be drinking.

He gave us a place to go because he knew without some place to be we'd likely be running the roads and getting in trouble.

He told us not to grow up and be like him. He thought we all deserved better and knew that we all had the brains to be better. I hope some of the guys turn out to be dads like him though.

His son Ray saved my life once. Until tonight I hadn't spoken to him in almost 5 years. As soon as I heard about Pops I had to call him. Hearing his voice broke my heart. Ray lived for his dad. I worry about what he'll do now. I made him laugh though when I talked to him. He said only I could make him laugh on a day like today. I always made Pops laugh too.

The cancer was bad and he was in a lot of pain towards the end so I know that it's better now that's he's in a place with no pain. Instead of being sad we should all remember the great times we had sitting around Pops house laughing and talking. We should remember that he was a good man despite his problems and be happy that he touched our lives. I know I am.

We all acted like he was just one of our friends' parents but Pops was one of a kind. I think we all felt the same way but no one ever said it out loud so I'm going to now. Better late than never I guess...

I love you Pops. Thanks, and goodbye.

9:38 pm - 13 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy