usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

long boring headache story

the headache that was just starting a few hours ago, that i thought was probably eye strain or sinuses, turned into a full blown migraine by the time i got to the doctor's office.

the worse migraine i've had in, ever, i don't know, a long time.

when they called me back my blood pressure and my temperature had spiked up very very high. so they took me to a room, turned out the lights, brought me a cold washcloth for my head and a cup of ice water and left me alone for a while.

the pain continued to build until i was so aggitated that i couldn't stay still and i was moaning out loud without even knowing it. the doctor came in and talked to me for a few minutes but i barely recall anything that she said. i do know that our conversation resulted in my receiving a shot of tordol (a very strong pain reliever similar to advil) in the hip. then i was left alone again, after being given a blanket. (i was so cold i was shaking from head to toe)

the nurse came in and gave me the shot and strangley enough i didn't freak about the prospect of being poked with a needle. i guess excruciating pain in your head kind of makes a needle stick seem minor in comparison. anyway, i stopped shivering so badly after a few minutes and then i calmed down and stopped fidgetting so badly and stopped rocking. (when i get aggitated during migraines or whenever i don't feel well, i rock myself. it's a protective and soothing device blah blah) and i was asleep in probably about ten minutes.

the doc let me sleep for about thirty minutes or so before she came back to check on me. my bp was down thankfully but i was still in so much pain i could hardly speak. she did finally examine my hip and then she left to go fill out my return to work paperwork and to write me a note for missing work today and told me to try to go back to sleep.

she ended up letting me sleep for another forty minutes before she came back to check on me. i said i would go home and go to bed. she wanted to call my parents to come get me and my car but i have serious issues with the thought of my mom behind the wheel of my car. i mean, i'm not so great of a driver but she is like a million times worse. so, yeah, that's not happening.

i swore that i didn't have far to go and i would take it easy and drive nice and slow and she told me that if my migraine didn't let up by tomorrow to come back to see her. she said she was extremely concerned about how fast it progressed and how severe it was and how high my bp and temperature spiked. i promised i'd come back if it didn't get better and then slunk out to the waiting room to call jermaine while trying to avoid any and all light.

i must have looked wonderful. my face was chalk white, my eyes looked sunken and ringed with dark circles and my hair wasn't in the greatest of shape from the sleeping and the moving around and me pulling my hair as an attempt to lessen the pain probably didn't help my look a lot either. not that i really give a shit.

so i called jermaine and whispered into the phone, explaining what was going on and what the doc said. he asked why i was whispering and i explained that any noise over a whisper made my head feel like it was going to split in half. to which he replied "oh" and dropped the volume of his hyper and peppy voice about four levels. thank the lord. i love him but he is l - o - u - d.

so, i came home and went to bed. that was a few hours ago. the doc told me that the tordol would probably make me sick to my stomach but since i was already feeling sick from the migraine it didn't really matter. she told me to make sure i ate something as soon as i could even if it was a drive thru cheeseburger, which is exactly what it was, and to make sure i kept taking my advil to keep the pain reliever in my blood stream high enough.

i'm not reading back over my sentences as i write them and i have this vague feeling that some of them might not make sense. like maybe i changed the point of the sentence halfway through or something. anyway, i'm headed back to bed. i woke up with an unhappy tummy thanks to all of the pain releivers but there isn't much i can do, i have to keep taking them. so i'm going to try to go back to sleep for a while.

i start back on day shift tomorrow. yay me. toodles

6:17 pm - 22 Feb 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy