usmcsis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we'll party like rockstars...

god, is this the longest day in the history of the world or what? it's only nine'o'clock. hell, i've only been awake since noon and it feels like it should be eleven or twelve. in case i've never mentioned it before, i hate daylight savings time. blah.

so, i just finished washing a few of my cookie jars and arranged them on my bookcase. when i say a few i mean, like twenty. but, when you have close to two hundred, twenty really is a few. i can average five or six per shelf which is good, but i'm still only going to be able to have a fraction of my collection in my room.

of course, i have a ton of christmas/winter jars that i don't need to keep out year round so those i'll display in the living room with the christmas tree and pack them back up after christmas. or maybe i'll leave them out, after all, the tree has been up and decorated for a year now. who does it hurt?

so, my wonderfully talented dland friend and fellow virginian, sam, sent a synopsis of his novel, Chasm, along with the first chapter, to a literary agent. yay sam!

as i have already mentioned in an email to you personally, i am so proud of you! now i just need to work up the guts to do it myself. part of the problem with that is that i just don't like anything i've written recently enough to send it out. that and the fact that i have three unfinished novels on disks sitting right over there on that shelf. maybe nanowrimo will help me with that.

everyone tells me i'm a good writer. hell, i'll even be a bit conceited and say that i think i'm a good writer. but sometimes i get so impatient to finish a story that i rush the ending and it ends up turning into crap. and i'm not just being all modest and shit, it really turns into crap. so, if i start to feel myself getting impatient, rather than rush the ending and ruin it, i just quit altogehter, because that's just so much better.

so, three days to go until nanowrimo finally begins. i have to write at least six pages a day in order to hit my word count of 50,000 in thirty days. sherlock doesn't think i'll do it. he thinks i can do it, he just thinks that i won't. i suggested that we have a little wager going to see if i did finish or not but he never responded. he's probably scared of what i'd offer as a prize. i'm really not that weird brandon. honest.

so, yeah. i'm about halfway done with blue moon, the eighth in the anita blake series. only three left after this and i can start incubus dreams. jeff has already read it and he didn't like it much, but then, he stopped liking them round about narcissus in chains because he said the series became more about sex than monsters. and what exactly is wrong with that may i ask?

i've started reading a ton of new diaries in the past few weeks. even a few people from virginia including the previously mentioned impetuousme. i won't list them all now, mainly because my memory has recently turned into swiss cheese, but take a look at my buddylist and check some of them out.

so it's been a good week back at work for the most part. okay, it's been a good week back at work altogether. *sigh* i can't help it, i love my job. no matter how hard i try to hate it, it doesn't work. i flat out love my friggin job. i know, i know, there is something seriously wrong with that, but that's just the way it is.

i went in monday morning, of course, expecting the worst. and, of course, i was late, which i've already mentioned. luckily the worst didn't happen while i was gone. granted there were a few things here and there that had to be taken care of but for the most part, it was alright. then i got a huge order in and i had to work on putting that away and for some reason i was really busy. i'm never really busy on a monday. it was strange.

so then, boss man calls me up and tells me that my district food team leader is on the way to walk my department and she'll be here in like twenty minutes. oh my friggin god, i freaked out. i was taking some nice deep breaths in order to stave off my anxiety attack when marinda came over to get a drink and made me sit down in the back room with my head between my knees.

of course, i know that my department looks good. it's not exactly 100%, but it's damn close. even with me having been on vacation for a week and nothing was dated correctly, it was nothing that i couldn't fix in a few moments and if it wasn't done when karyn got there all i had to do was explain the situation. but i freaked anyway.

it's the first anxiety attack i've suffered in a very long time. but it lasted less than three minutes, thanks to my breathing and my telling myself to calm down and not being mean to myself in my head. that's one of the worst things you can do in an anxiety attack. you know, like telling yourself that you're an idiot for getting all worked up, or telling yourself what a loser you are and so on and so forth.

so i just sat there and breathed and told myself that my department looked great and karyn was going to be impressed, and if, for some strange reason, she wasn't, there was nothing i could do about it anyway. so marinda got me a cup of ice water and i sipped it for a minute, crunched a piece of ice and then got up and went about my business. that alone made me feel damn proud of myself. at that point i think karyn could have fired me and i still would have been pretty happy.

there was a time when i couldn't reverse an anxiety attack. hell, there was a time when not only did i not know how to reverse one, i didn't even know what the hell they were. :P

so i finished what i need to do and took my break and went outside with my book and smoked for fifteen minutes. when i came back in one of the front end supervisors came running up to me, she's here, she's here. i shrugged and was like, okay. she asked me if i were nervous and i was like, no, not really, no reason to be. she was like, i'm nervous and she isn't even my boss.

so karyn and jermaine came over and the three of us walked and she basically said she was very impressed. she liked the way i had the backroom organized. she did make a few suggestions here and there, but most of them were actually things that jermaine and i had already discussed, things that we needed her permission to do. we laughed a little over that. she helped me pay a couple of bills and told me i was doing a good job, keep it up.

so, it was a pretty good monday.

tuesday i closed and i was pretty slow all night. i started doing my inventory pre-count and actually got just over half of it done. i did a bit of extra cleaning and such and was finished and on my way home by ten-thirty.

my dad was worried that i was going to be late again wednesday morning so he kept bugging the shit out of me starting at like five-thirty. i was a very unhappy person at five-thirty. but i was on time for work. so, yeah, thanks.

at like quarter to eight the girl who was supposed to work food from eight until twelve while i did my actual inventory, called and said she wasn't coming. so that was not fun. but i finished up my count after i opened food and in between waiting on guests, and then i got one of the gstl's to watch food for me while i did the computer part of inventory. granted, neither of the gstl's were very happy about having to watch food but they didn't have a lot of choice.

so, inventory turned out pretty well. i won't know how well until about the second week of november when the company posts my gross margin numbers but i am crossing my fingers that my gross margin is a lot lower than it was last month.

so my friend heather is throwing a tasteful treasures party next weekend. she told me yesterday that the party lady was bringing goodie bags with her. you have to buy the goodie bag but the treat is that you don't know what's in them. she will have some $3 bags, some $5 bags, some $10 and some $20 bags. she told heather that the $20 bags need batteries.

usually i blow these kinds of things off. (ha ha - sorry, just had a beavis and butthead moment) i skipped out on my cousin's tupperware party a couple of months ago. and heather had a party light candle party last month that i skipped on, but i think i will definitely be making an appearance at the tasteful treasures party. i know almost everyone who is going. actually, most everyone who will be there works with me so it should prove to be a very entertaining evening. and, we get to play with fake penises. good times.

so, yeah, on that note, this has turned into a pretty long entry and i should probably go now. it's still not even ten'o'clock yet.

i want a cigarette.

toodles

9:06 pm - 28 Oct 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

augustdreams
balynar
breakangel
chickpea981
cosmicrayola
dullstar
flyjughead
forty-plus
ibepiglet
imaphatpig
impetuousme
kiss-a-frog
kitchenlogic
krugerpak007
lasvegasliz
retailharlot
sassyfras
sdq73
supermom3604
thedailywtf
warcrygirl
wellnessplan
wicked-sezzy